02.12.2016 - 28.01.2017

Alles Natur

Hirthammer’s current work stands under the premise of the rediscovery of the ideals of the Renaissance. He places nature at the very center of intense observation. The nature studies of Albrecht Durer and his contemporaries arose from a scientific interest in nature; his nature studies are characterized by emotion and wonder. The most recent works […]

Hirthammer’s current work stands under the premise of the rediscovery of the ideals of the Renaissance. He places nature at the very center of intense observation. The nature studies of Albrecht Durer and his contemporaries arose from a scientific interest in nature; his nature studies are characterized by emotion and wonder.

The most recent works by Josef Hirthammer are strongly magnified, detailed and extremely time-consuming drawings of flowers, flower stems, and seeds using colored pencils, crayons, and pencils, whose altogether realistic execution is quasi-destroyed through vigorous overpainting and overdrawing.  These destructive gestures symbolize the irrational destruction of nature by man.

Hirthammer views these works as a documentation of presently existing flora which we humans are systematically reducing and ultimately will eradicate. They are wonderful parts of that nature which surrounds us, the world in which we all live. Man is destroying, fully consciously, the basis of his own existence. Greed, egoism, and hunger for power are destroying flora and fauna and ultimately man himself, his own species.

With his pictures, he would like to illustrate the aesthetics of nature, the beauty of an individual flower, the inherent forces within the smallest seed. We humans must once again learn to love nature, for we only protect what we really love.

02.12.2016 - 28.01.2017

Alles Natur

Hirthammers derzeitiges Schaffen steht unter der Prämisse der Wiederentdeckung der Ideale der Renaissance. Er stellt die Natur in den Mittelpunkt der intensiven Betrachtung. Die Naturstudien von Albrecht Dürer und Zeitgenossen entstanden aus wissenschaftlichem Interesse  an der Natur; seine Naturstudien sind durch Gefühl und Bewunderung geprägt. Die neuesten Arbeiten von Josef Hirthammer sind stark vergrößerte, detaillierte […]

Hirthammers derzeitiges Schaffen steht unter der Prämisse der Wiederentdeckung der Ideale der Renaissance. Er stellt die Natur in den Mittelpunkt der intensiven Betrachtung. Die Naturstudien von Albrecht Dürer und Zeitgenossen entstanden aus wissenschaftlichem Interesse  an der Natur; seine Naturstudien sind durch Gefühl und Bewunderung geprägt.

Die neuesten Arbeiten von Josef Hirthammer sind stark vergrößerte, detaillierte und sehr zeitaufwändige Zeichnungen mit Buntstift, Wachsstift und Bleistift von Blumen, Blütenständen und Samen, deren überaus realistische Ausführung durch dynamisches Übermalen und Überzeichnen quasi  zerstört wird. Diese destruktiven Gesten  versinnbildlichen das irrationale Zerstören der Natur durch den Menschen.

Hirthammer betrachtet diese Werke als Dokumentation der jetzigen Flora, die wir Menschen systematisch reduzieren und letztendlich ausrotten werden. Es sind bewundernswerte Teile der uns umgebenden Natur, unser aller Lebensraum. Der Mensch vernichtet sehenden Auges seine eigene Lebensgrundlage. Gier, Egoismus und Machthunger vernichten Flora und Fauna und letztlich seine eigene Gattung.

Mit seinen Bildern möchte er die Ästhetik unserer Natur aufzeigen, die Schönheit einer einzelnen Blüte, die innewohnenden Kräfte selbst im kleinsten Samen. Wir Menschen müssen wieder unsere Natur lieben lernen, denn nur das, was wir wirklich lieben, schützen wir auch.